How to Make Career Decisions More Easily

August 17, 2017

Career Advice

Your career path will be full of questions now and in the future: Is that the right job for me? Should I apply for that promotion? Do I want to take on that project? Does going back to school make sense? Do I go right or left?

Answering these questions is not easy–unless your career goals are clearly defined. Think about it on both a macro and micro level: when your goal is clearly defined, you can approach any decision with one simple question, “Will this help me reach my goal?” If the answer is yes, then move forward. If the answer is no, step away.

If your goal is to lose weight, you could approach each temptation with one question. As you look at the bowl of ice cream, ask yourself: will this help me reach my goal? The answer is no, so move on. If you are debating between grabbing dinner with friends or going to an exercise class, ask yourself: which will help me reach my goal? The answer is the exercise class.

The same strategy can be applied at work. If your goal is to be the global marketing manager of a consumer products good company, think about what that goal entails: an MBA? International experience? A second language? Experience managing others? Now write this goal down, as well as the steps it will take to get there.

The next time you have to make a decision, you’ll be better prepared to make an educated choice. And you’ll feel more confident doing it.

Image via David Mulder/Flickr.

About Spectrum Brands Careers

Spectrum Brands is a global $5 Billion Consumer Products company headquartered in Middleton, Wisconsin. While you may not be familiar with the Spectrum Brands name, there is no doubt you will recognize some of our brands.

View all posts by Spectrum Brands Careers

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment