Women in Science Series #5: Dr. Gladys Mbofung-Curtis

May 7, 2021

Career Advice

We had the pleasure of checking in with Gladys Mbofung-Curtis, PhD, Plant Scientist, Home & Garden, to speak about her career as a scientist at Spectrum Brands.

Tell me more about your career in science and what you do at Spectrum Brands.
My career has evolved from being a bench scientist to field scientist and morphed to both bench and field currently. Over the years I have worked on providing innovative management options that have contributed to the development of integrated plant health management strategies benefiting both organic and conventional agriculture. These strategies have included research on the biology of plant pathogens of economic importance, the development of diagnostic tools, use of genomics to define each pathosystem.

In my current role as Plant Scientist at SPB, I design, initiate and conduct efficacy tests with control products in greenhouse, laboratory, growth chamber and field, and provide technical expertise on all things plants to stake holders.

What attracted to you to a career in science? What do you love most about working in science?
I am, by nature, reserved but with a very inquisitive mind. I have always wanted to understand “the why and how” of things. The abundance of microorganisms that do not cause any harm on crops was an enigma to me. The idea that new diseases emerged from existing microbes that may have been harmless in the environment under certain conditions was interesting enough to garner my interest in science. I love how the scientific method could stimulate a mind to discover hidden gems in nature – more like a private investigator – only one ends up with a product that helps the society and not conviction.

How can we support women and girls (future women!) in science?
It is imperative to encourage women and girls to adopt a growth mindset, and to base feelings of belonging on effort and engagement wherever they are, whether in a classroom or work setting. When I joined the University for my PhD program, I was unprepared to face the multiplicity of issues that surfaced daily. I was fortunate some of the professors came to my rescue and their efforts had a profound effect on me. Today, I realize their encouragement helped me to identify the problems I encountered as difficulties and not limitations. The art of mentoring should be encouraged and not removed from our society. We have come along way and I salute the pioneers in this field, but societal priorities are fast changing, and women are no more the focal point, but we still have to continue the fight for women who want to excel in science.

How has your science career grown at Spectrum Brands?
I am amazed at the opportunities SPB offers for improving oneself. Here, the sky and you are your limits at growth both in one’s field and cross-functionally. Unlike in other companies, at SPB I feel integrated and supported by all colleagues. The human mind is sharpened by innovation and continuous learning. It is hard work, but I am provided with everything I need to succeed.

What is your best piece of advice for women who want to break into a science field?
From the get-go, define your interests, find out how and what you need to achieve those interests and go for it. You will excel in whatever is of interest to you. On your journey, do not hesitate to ask for help when you have exhausted all your leads (asking for help when you have done the necessary research is scientific). Thus, taking a more active role in furthering and encouraging women in science will entail collaborating with already established programs to build core supervisory competencies.

About Spectrum Brands Careers

Spectrum Brands is a global $5 Billion Consumer Products company headquartered in Middleton, Wisconsin. While you may not be familiar with the Spectrum Brands name, there is no doubt you will recognize some of our brands.

View all posts by Spectrum Brands Careers

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment