Women in Science Series #7: Firdaus Nandoliya

June 4, 2021

Career Advice

Firdaus Nandoliya, R&D Engineer, Home & Personal Care

Tell me more about your career in science and what you do at Spectrum Brands.
 My career started with a Bachelor of Science in Physics back home in India. Nothing fascinated me more than Physics. I enjoyed doing that during college, but when I moved to the U.S. I transitioned to Mechanical Engineering because it offered a more hands-on experience. I completed my double bachelor’s in engineering from UW Madison soon after. I have been at Spectrum Brands since 2013 and have worked on a variety of Home & Personal Care appliances including coffeemakers, coating etc. Currently, my focus is on grills.


What attracted to you to a career in science? What do you love most about working in science?
Growing up, nothing fascinated me more than Physics. It’s the science of how things work and that intrigued me more than the biological aspects of science. My father wanted me to be a doctor, so I had to break it to him that I was not interested, and he couldn’t convince me otherwise. Once I have my heart set on something, I am going to do it.


How can we support women and girls in science?
 Every woman has innate problem-solving skills! We are natural problem solvers. Don’t let your notions about science or engineering turn you off. It’s not only about building or memorizing terms. If you’re interested in figuring out how things work and the science behind it, then maybe science or engineering career is for you. You won’t know unless you try. Go for it and don’t let anyone stop you.


How has your science career grown at Spectrum Brands?
During my time at Spectrum Brands I have taken on several different development projects. Every new project has been a new challenge. Every product has its own problem and you’re able to solve a new issue every time. The challenges this work brings keep things interesting.


What is your best piece of advice for women who want to break into a science field?
 Once you decide that science is something you are interested in, don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t. Find your niche and strive for it! Everyone has their own experience and journey, don’t compare your own story to anyone else’s. Make your own mark, at your own time.

About Spectrum Brands Careers

Spectrum Brands is a global $5 Billion Consumer Products company headquartered in Middleton, Wisconsin. While you may not be familiar with the Spectrum Brands name, there is no doubt you will recognize some of our brands.

View all posts by Spectrum Brands Careers

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment